All apps begin in "test mode."
You can't share your app with others until it is "activated" and out of test mode.
While in test mode, you have a number of features available to your for testing your app to see if it works the way you expect.
All apps begin in "test mode." You can confirm your app is in test mode by observing this badge in the App Builder:
While in test mode your apps are restricted in certain ways:
To remove these restrictions, simply activate your app.
If you click 'preview' from within the App Builder, your app will run in Developer Mode:
In developer mode, you get access to tools that help you quickly test and find issues with your app (known as "debugging"). Note, these tools are only every visible to you, the app author:
How these tools work:
When you click the "Save Snapshot" button, all of your inputs for that app session are saved under the Snapshots tab in the App Builder. You can then re-run those saved sessions whenever you want, automatically advancing the app using the stored inputs. This makes it easy to rapidly test changes to your app or template logic.
When you run a Snapshot and go back in your app to change an answer, you can teleport back to the end of the snapshot by clicking the Fast forward button.
When you run a Snapshot, you can run it in Sandbox mode. This will suppress outbound webhooks and emails, letting you test your app without cluttering your database or inbox with fake data.
For more information about Snapshots, Fast Forward, and Sandbox, please watch the video below: